1. Forum moved (you can use login and pass from old forum)
  2. Many discussions moved to the bugtracker

Save format changes and issues

Discussion in 'Coding' started by jgatkinsn, Mar 1, 2018.

1. jgatkinsn

jgatkinsn Member Programmer

Best Answers:
    I'm looking to help out a little bit, and I figured I could investigate the save file issues mentioned on github. I was curious as to what kind of load and save times you've been seeing? I noticed one save file I pulled down from a github issue was a whopping 50 MB of XML text!! I was kind of stunned even with it compressed down to about of 1MB.

Anyway, I've had some experience with RapidJSON, and I figured I could try and build in support and test performance. Downside is that it will probably be a single file, since JSON doesn't support include files. I could try YAML which does support file inclusion, but from what I've seen of benchmarks for YAML, I'm not sure it will be much faster than some XML parsers.

I think I know where in the code most of the changes will go (serialize.cpp/.h) and the serialization tool which looks like it will come in handy.

Is there any other formats you might want me to investigate if I can get this up and running? MsgPack?

I assume you want to strive for human readable format if possible, correct?

makus and Patrick Sweetman like this.
  2. makus

makus Designer, forum admin Administrator Designer/Artist

Best Answers:
    Hey jgatkinsn its great that you join to project =] :treason::play:
    im not programmer, but i heard, devs speak for YAML like in OpenXcom for save system

3. jgatkinsn

Best Answers: