1. Forum moved (you can use login and pass from old forum)
  2. Many discussions moved to the bugtracker

New philosophies mod

Discussion in 'Game Mods' started by Conoros, Dec 9, 2016.

1. Conoros

Conoros Registered

Best Answers:
    Hey :)

Was pleasantly surprised to find this project today and I'm really looking forward to seeing the remake :)
    Once upon a time I made a mod for the original and seeing this forum I figured I might share in the hopes that one day I might remake it for OpenApoc.

First, I'm not a coder by any means, all I did was use an editor someone else made to change what was already present in the game files. I did some research on the numbers and ideas behind them and looked at unused assets in the files. I used official guides, unofficial guides and just my own experience. This might not be anybody elses cup of tea, but they were changes I thought amped the game up abit.

Ground vehicles shouldn't be a thing
    They were great for flavour but the in terms of game play options for X-Com they were quite poor. The freedom of movement that flyers had made them useless. Making them relevant meant upping stats to absurd levels. I changed them to flyers and tried to give them a role to fit in where possible. Stormdogs became a heavy hovercar variant, while the Phoenix got a larger engine bay to use SD Elite engines. The Wolfhound became a transport oriented medium flyer (freeing up your Valkyrie full time) and the Griffon was equivalent to the Hawk but heavier and slower.

For the most part the ground vehicle equipment was just removed.
    (Didnt do anything with the bikes)

Corporate activity